On the road to… Peru

Depuis quelques années l’engouement envers le Pérou est tel que des quotas ont été mis en place pour limiter l’impact touristique sur le sol de la Cité Inca. Mais ce que certains ignorent est que le pays est aussi varié que fascinant.

Depuis quelques années l’engouement envers le Pérou est tel que des quotas ont été mis en place pour limiter l’impact touristique sur le sol de la Cité Inca. Mais ce que certains ignorent est que le pays est aussi varié que fascinant. Depuis les rues historiques de Cusco aux plages de surf à Mancora en passant par les salines de Maras et la forêt Amazonienne, on vous a ici concocté un voyage kids friendly de 15 jours, pour vous imprégner de cette culture et nature stupéfiantes.


JOUR 1 / ARRIVÉE À LIMA

Arrivée en fin d’après-midi à Lima, meet & greet et transfert jusqu’à votre hôtel dans le quartier de Barranco.

Deux nuits à Lima.

JOUR 2 / LIMA

Vous commencerez la visite de Lima à travers l’un de ses marchés les plus emblématiques. Ici, vous goûterez à des fruits provenant de la côte, des montagnes et de la jungle, tels que la mangue, le fruit de la passion, l’aguaje, le chirimoya… Vous vous dirigerez ensuite vers un restaurant local où vous apprendrez à cuisiner des plats locaux, accompagnés du chef.

Dans la ville coloniale Plaza Mayor, Government Palace, City Hall, la Cathédrale et le Archbishop’s Palace sont des incontournables. Suit Casa Aliaga, l’un des hôtels particuliers coloniaux les mieux préservés d’Amérique. Face au Palace Présidentiel, Casa Aliaga fut construite en 1535 par Don Jeronimo de Aliaga. 17 générations plus tard, Casa Aliaga est toujours habitée par la même famille.

JOUR 3 / PUERTO MALDONADO

Vol Lima — Puerto Maldonado.

Au bout de 45 minutes de navigation sur la rivière Madre de Dios vous rejoindrez votre lodge.

Retrouvez votre Explorer Guide et partez pour une marche au cœur de la réserve amazonienne. Cette sortie offre une excellente introduction à la jungle, ses arbres impressionnants et ses oiseaux et insectes exotiques.

En fin d’après-midi, les animaux diurnes laissent place aux espèces nocturnes. Cette balade en bateau vous permet de découvrir cet autre monde, où la jungle se remplit de chouettes, rongeurs et gros caïmans.

Deux nuits dans la forêt amazonienne.

JOUR 4 / PUERTO MALDONADO

A bord d’un canoë en bois, vous vous dirigerez dans la Tambopata National Reserve, où vivent loutres géantes, singes hurleurs, aras à ventre rouge, anacondas, tortues Chelidae et caïmans noirs.

Canopy Walkway et Anaconda Walk : En gravissant les marches de la première tour de 29 mètres, vous commencerez à apercevoir les premières cimes. Sur près de 400 mètres, vous marcherez à travers la canopée de la forêt tropicale sur un réseau de ponts suspendus reliant huit plateformes d’observation. L’expédition d’une heure et demie permet de voir toucans, pics, singes et paresseux à trois doigts. En revenant sur terre, une marche de 30 minutes vous amène jusqu’au pont en bois long de 200 mètres au-dessus des marécages Aguajales. Ici, l’écosystème comprend des amphibiens, des oiseaux, des mammifères, une flore abondante et des serpents de mer.

JOUR 5 / VALLÉE SACRÉE

Le Pérou abrite la plus grande variété de papillons dans le monde, avec 3.700 espèces connues. Beaucoup d’entre elles peuvent être observées à la Butterfly House, avant de rejoindre l’aéroport.

Vol Puerto Maldonado — Cusco.

Arrivée à Cusco et route vers la Vallée Sacrée, qui se trouve à une élévation plus basse par rapport à la ville, ce qui permet de s’acclimater à la région plus facilement. FYI, la ville de Cusco se trouve à 3.400 mètres de hauteur.

Quatre nuits dans la Vallée Sacrée.

JOUR 6 / VALLÉE SACRÉE

Les Incas utilisaient les terrasses circulaires de Moray en tant que laboratoire de recherche agricole pour étudier les variations de température entre les différentes terrasses et développer différentes variétés de récoltes. Plus tard, les variétés de graines les plus résistantes étaient distribuées dans tout l’Empire Inca. De l’autre côté de la Vallée Urubamba vous apercevrez les sommets enneigés des Cordillères Vilcabamba et Urubamba.

La ville de Maras prit de l’importance au cours du 17ème siècle grâce à l’exploitation et la commercialisation des salines. Vous traverserez les Maras Pampas, où les habitants cultivent la terre et élèvent bovins et moutons.

JOUR 7 / VALLÉE SACRÉE

Le marché de Pisac était à l’origine un endroit d’échange pour les communautés isolées qui venaient vendre leurs produits. De nos jours, c’est un marché pour souvenirs et produits artisanaux. On se laisse ici tenter par des empanadas cuites dans les fours en argile traditionnels.

La Communauté d’Amaru est un peuple des Andes spécialisé dans la confection de textiles. Les couleurs vives des vêtements proviennent de colorants naturels faits de plantes et autres éléments organiques.

JOUR 8 / VALLÉE SACRÉE

Les chevaux péruviens sont connus pour la douceur de leurs mouvements. Depuis le ranch à Urubamba, vous visiterez des haciendas coloniales, des fermes et profiterez de sublimes vues sur la vallée.

Sur le chemin du retour, vous pourrez vous arrêter à la Citadelle d’Ollantaytambo pour y visiter sa forteresse. Construite pour protéger l’entrée de la vallée et prévenir les invasions des tribus venues de la jungle, la citadelle consiste en une superposition des terrasses qui témoignent du but militaire, religieux et culturel durant l’Empire Inca.

JOUR 9 / MACHU PICCHU

Transfert vers la station de train d’Ollanta et train jusqu’à Aguas Calientes.

Le train présente des vues incroyables sur la rivière Urubamba, à travers des champs verdoyants, sous les hauts glaciers Andéens.

Accessible en bus ou à pieds, la montée jusqu’aux 2.430m du Machu Picchu n’en reste pas moins spectaculaire. Classé à l’UNESCO, la Cité est l’une des sept nouvelles merveilles du monde.

Une nuit à Aguas Calientes.

JOUR 10 / MACHU PICCHU

Durant la matinée, vous aurez l’opportunité de retourner au Machu Picchu si vous le souhaitez, ou grimper sur la Huayna Picchu Mountain qui donne des vues incroyables sur la citadelle, les vallées et les montagnes environnantes. Vous pourriez aussi visiter le Inca Bridge, une structure en pierre impressionnante qui servait d’entrée et de sortie à la cité et qui a un trou de plusieurs mètres de long, autrefois recouvert par deux larges planches de bois, qui permettaient aux Incas de couper l’accès à la ville en cas d’attaque.

Dans l’après-midi, rendez-vous à la station de Poroy pour votre train jusqu’à Cusco.

Trois nuits à Cusco, au Inkaterra La Casona.

JOUR 11 / CUSCO

Découverte de Cusco : vous commencerez la visite avec le Santo Domingo Monastery, le légendaire Korikancha (Temple d’Or), le plus important temple Inca dédié au Soleil, dont les murs sont recouverts de feuilles d’or. Vous continuerez vers la Cathédrale sur la Plaza de Armas, la Plaza de Regocijo, la vieille ville et les anciens murs Incas. Suivra le quartier de San Blas et ses superbes vues de la ville. Ce quartier abrite des ateliers et les magasins les plus réputés de Cusco, ainsi que des belles églises coloniales. Votre balade se terminera par le Choco Museum. Vous découvrirez cet incroyable fruit et confectionnerez votre propre chocolat depuis les grains de cacao. Depuis 2012, le Pérou est le 1er producteur de chocolat au monde.

JOUR 12 / MANCORA

Vols Cusco – Lima – Talara.

Quatre nuits à Mancora.

JOURS 13-15 / MANCORA

Mancora est réputée en tant que spot de surf et de kitesurf. La petite ville regorge de boutiques d’artisans et présente un joli port pêcheur traditionnel.

JOUR 16 / BACK TO REALITY

Vols Cusco – Lima – Paris.

Laisser un commentaire

On the road to… Peru

For the past few years the enthusiasm for Peru has been such that quotas have been set up to limit the touristic impact on the Incan soil. But some people still don’t know is that the country is as varied as fascinating.

For the past few years the enthusiasm for Peru has been such that quotas have been set up to limit the touristic impact on the Incan soil. But some people still don’t know is that the country is as varied as fascinating. From the historical streets of Cusco to the surf beaches in Mancora, passing by the Salinas of Maras and the Amazonian forest, we have concocted a 15-day kids friendly itinerary, the best way to soak into the stunning culture and nature.


DAY 1 / ARRIVE IN LIMA

Arrive in Lima in late afternoon, meet & greet and transfer to your hotel in Barranco.

Two nights in Lima.

DAY 2 / LIMA

The discovery of Lima starts by one of its most emblematic markets. Here you will taste fruits coming from the coast, the mountains and the jungle, such as mango, passion fruit, aguaje, cherimoya… You then head to a local restaurant where you’ll learn how to cook typical dishes with the chef.

In the colonial city, the Plaza Mayor, the Government Palace, the City Hall, the Cathedral and the Archbishop’s Palace are unmissable. Follows Casa Aliaga, one of America’s best-preserved colonial mansions. Facing the Presidential Palace, Casa Aliaga was built in 1535 by Don Jeronimo de Aliaga. 17 generations later, the mansion is still inhabited by the same family.

DAY 3 / PUERTO MALDONADO

Flight Lima — Puerto Maldonado.

After 45 minutes of navigation on River Madre de Dios, you reach the lodge.

Follow your explorer guide on a walk through the Amazonian reserve. This is an excellent introduction to the jungle, its impressive trees and exotic birds and insects.

In the late afternoon, the diurnal animals give way to the nocturnal species. This boat ride gives you an insight on this other world, where owls, rodents and caimans fill the jungle.

Two nights in the Amazonian forest.

DAY 4 / PUERTO MALDONADO

On board of a wooden canoe, you head to the Tambopata National Reserve, where live giant river otters, red howler monkeys, red-bellied macaws, anacondas, side-neck turtles and black caimans.

Canopy Walkway and Anaconda Walk: when ascending the first tower, 29 meters above the forest ground, you begin to encounter with the treetop realm. For about 400 meters, you walk through the canopy on a series of suspended bridges linking eight observation platforms. The expedition lasts an hour and a half and is a great way to observe toucans, woodpeckers, trogons, monkeys and the three-toed sloth. Coming back to earth, a 30-minute walk takes you to the wooden bridge suspended 200 meters above the Aguajales swamps. Here, the ecosystem includes amphibians, birds, mammals, an abundant flora and sea snakes.

DAY 5 / SACRED VALLEY

Peru has the biggest variety of butterflies in the world, with 3,700 species known. Many of these can be seen at the Butterfly House, before heading to the airport.

Flight Puerto Maldonado — Cusco.

Arrive in Cusco and head to the Sacred Valley, which is at a lower elevation than the city, which lets visitors to acclimatize to the region more easily. FYI, Cusco is set at 3,400 meters above sea level.

Four nights in the Sacred Valley.

DAY 6 / SACRED VALLEY

The Inca people used the Moray circular terraces as an agricultural laboratory to study how temperatures used to vary and develop different types of crops. Later, the varieties of grains that resisted the best where distributed throughout the Inca Empire. On the other side of the Urubamba Valley are the summits of the cordillera Vilcabamba and Urubamba.

The city of Maras grew in importance during the 17th century thanks to the salt manufacturing.  Cross the Mara Pampas, where the inhabitants cultivate the land and raise bovine and sheep.

DAY 7 / SACRED VALLEY

Pisac’s market was originally a place of exchange for the remote communities that used to come to sell their products. Nowadays, it’s a market for souvenirs and artisanal products. Try the empanadas cooked in the traditional clay ovens.

Amaru community is an Andean people specializing in the tailoring of textiles. The bright colors of the clothes come from natural colorants made of plants and other organic elements.

DAY 8 / SACRED VALLEY

Peruvian horses are known for being very gentle in their movements. From the ranch in Urubamba you will visit some colonial haciendas, farms and enjoy magnificent views of the valley.

Coming back, visit the Ollantaytambo Citadel to check out its fortress. Built in order to protect the entry of the valley and prevent any invasion from the jungle tribes, the citadel is a superposition of terraces that testify of the military, religious and cultural purpose of the Incan Empire.

DAY 9 / MACHU PICCHU

Transfer to Ollanta train station and train ride to Aguas Calientes.

The train has beautiful views over the Urubamba river, going through verdant fields, under the Andean glaciers.

Accessible by bus or by foot, the hike tot the 2,430m top of Machu Picchu remains spectacular. Listed as a UNESCO site, the city-state is one of the seven new marvels of the world.

One night in Aguas Calientes.

DAY 10 / MACHU PICCHU

In the morning, you can go back to Machu Picchu or hike the Huyana Picchu Mountain, which gives breath-taking views to the city-state and the surrounding valleys and mountains. Visit the Inca Bridge, an impressive stone structure that used to be the entry of the city and has a multi-meter hole that used to be covered by two large wooden planks, which let the Incas cut the access to the city in case of attack.

In the afternoon, head to Poroy train station for your train to Cusco.

Three nights in Cusco, at Inkaterra La Casona.

DAY 11 / CUSCO

Discovery of Cusco: start the day by visiting Santo Domingo Monastery, the legendary Korikancha (Golden Temple), the most important Incan temple dedicated to the Sun, which walls are covered in golden leaves. Continue to the Cathedral on Plaza de Armas, Plaza de Regocijo, the old city and the ancient Inca walls. Head to the San Blas for superb views of the city. This neighborhood hosts the most celebrated studios and shops of Cusco, as well as beautiful colonial churches. End the stroll at Choco Museum: discover this incredible fruit and make your own chocolate from the cacao grains. Since 2012, Peru is the first world producer of chocolate.

DAY 12 / MANCORA

Flights Cusco – Lima – Talara.

Four nights in Mancora.

DAYS 13-15 / MANCORA

Mancora is well known for its beautiful surf and kitesurf spots. The small town overflows with artisanal shops and has a cute little fishing port.

DAY 16 / BACK TO REALITY

Flights Cusco – Lima – Paris.

Leave a Reply